• j.k. weller

Faulkner's Six:

1. Love

2. Honor

3. Pity

4. Pride

5. Compassion

6. Sacrifice

I read this in a publication somewhere--I don't remember when or what publication it was in. But its impact is still with me today. As I understood it when I copied it down, it refers to William Faulkner's driving forces for writing captivating stories. I desire for them to be guiding principles as I continue to write. I don't know when or if I'll arrive at accomplishing each of them--perhaps I'll be brazen enough to write about it when I feel I've come close to living up to what Faulkner espoused. But don't wait for it.

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All